If You Haven’t Heard, You Haven’t Been Paying Attention…

April 15, 2008 at 11:42 am (Relationships)

So, you see, there’s this boy…and he’s pretty much the greatest thing ever.

Sure, he’d probably deny it (it’s what he does) but that’s only because he can’t see what I see. I see a wonderfully flawed individual who isn’t satisfied with where he is. He’s always moving forward, which inspires me to not become complacent. Because if I compare my life to his, I have forever to go. And he’s still not happy. I have to work. I see this incredibly handsome young man who is completely overshadowed by a huge and wonderful personality. I see someone smart, funny, considerate, and kind. I see someone who just makes me smile when he walks into a room

And there’s something in the way he looks at me that makes time stop and the world move on without us. His eyes are warm and safe, the perfect place to lose yourself. I know it’s cliched, but I do feel safe with him. I do trust him, which is not something I say lightly. It takes a lot to trust someone, but I’m going to take a risk. Because nothing in this world is worth it if you won’t risk something.

I look at him and see someone that accepts me as I am and forgives me when I need it (a lot, if I’m to be honest.) Someone who doesn’t make me self-conscious or nervous. He’s a friend, more than anything, and then something more. He’s a blessing that I don’t know how I got lucky enough to be given. It baffles me, that’s for sure. He’s so wonderful.

And he always makes me smile, makes my day brighter just by being there. He’s so concerned and caring. And when he calls me his girl, it just seems right. I know there are people who would whine and complain over something like that (rabid feminists, mainly), but it’s great to me. And he lets me call him my boy. I don’t know where this will go or for how long. I can’t see where we’ll end up anymore than anyone else can. But I know (or hope, at least, which is all you can do) that I have a lifelong true friend, if nothing else. And I know that everyday I get to spend with him will be a blessing, chance to grow, and an adventure. And I can’t wait to see the path life will lead us on.

Thanks, Sam, for letting me spend a month with you. It’s been more wonderful than I have words for. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. butterflyhummingbird said,

    That… was…. ADORABLE!!! *dies*

    I love you chica, and your boy too!

  2. caleabakke said,

    🙂

    I love it.

Leave a Reply

