Missing the Life I Love

May 13, 2008 at 9:59 pm (Real Life)

I miss college. Really really miss it. I think it’s because, for a couple weeks at least, I have absolutely nothing to take my mind off of everything. All I can do is live in my head and remember what isn’t here anymore. Or think about how long it will be until I get to see everyone again. I miss the stupid things even. I miss Walmart trips and walking across campus. I miss chapel and even the Caf. Okay, I miss dinner with everyone in the Caf, let’s not get carried away. I miss the people I don’t really like and those who spent most of the semester treating me less than I deserved. And I can barely stand the thought of not seeing the ones I really care about.
But, I guess this is what everyone goes through, I’m so glad I’ll have a job starting here soon to keep me from dwelling. Because three months would become eternity. I was thinking last night that this must be a nightmare. Surely, I would wake up and open my eyes back in my dorm. There’s no way both of these realities can exist. Yet somehow it’s true, and I’ve just got to move on. I’ve got to live life on my own, and then I can come back to everyone I love.
I’ve learned a lot, and I guess this is just one more lesson. I just hope this is a test I can pass.

3 Comments

  1. caleabakke said,

    I know what you mean. I am very homesick for school. It makes me grateful for being so busy this summer- working 5 or more days a week.
    The first two days were the worst for me, but as the summer continues, I feel like I will have little spurts of depression. I miss Kimmy alot- but I guess it helps me to tell stories about school. I know the saying “don’t cry cause it’s over, smile because it happened” but it’s such a hard philosophy to follow.
    I’m just around the corner if you need me babe… and don’t worry, we’ll be back in the caf before you know it. 🙂

  2. peafant said,

    Hi 🙂 I’m picking a few random blogs a day and inviting them to visit my blog. If you need a special prayer, please visit: http://needaprayer.wordpress.com (you may have to type it into the address bar because the peafant link will lead you to my other blog) If you don’t need a prayer, come visit anyway! Thanks and have a wonderful day. Sincerely, Rob Crandall

  3. Courtney said,

    I know how you feel. Even living in town, it’s weird cause all my friends are gone. But I’m hoping that we can hang out a lot this summer. ^_^

Leave a Reply

