Wanderlust

July 16, 2008 at 4:28 pm (Random Thoughts, Real Life, Spiritual)

“I’ve been here for so long
I think its time I moved on
So tell me where it is that I need to be

Where ever the wind blows
You will find me there
Standing exactly where I wanna be”
-Pillar, Wherever the Wind Blows

I’ve got wanderlust again. Driving past the interstate this morning, I couldn’t help but wish I could just turn onto it and follow it to the sea. Of course, it only runs straight onto the beach in childhood dreams. I used to think that the interstate just eventually dissolved into the sand, leaving you at a perfect beachside locale. Oh well. My reality was far more romanticized than the real one.

I can’t wait to take the ramp onto 24 and start driving. The day that I won’t have to stop until I hit Harding’s Campus. It can’t get here soon enough. Regardless, I am so tired of Nashville. I can’t believe I’m ready to trade in the big city for Searcy life. It will be wonderful to get away again. I mean, I guess I have El Salvador coming up. That will probably appease the wanderlust for a little while. Long enough, ideally, for me to get packed and leave. Then it’s in the air to Baltimore, and hundreds miles before I’m back home.

If only gas wasn’t so expensive, I’d just start driving, see where the road goes. I did that once this summer, trailing along winding back roads without a destination. Or that one day at Harding, following one road past everything to a new place I had never seen. Driving. Traveling. I miss it.

**I have a prayer request, too. Some of you have heard about the little boy that I babysit on occassion. He was diagnosed with Leukemia and has been improving. But a recent test showed that his Neutrophil count is at 40. The average person’s sits at 1000, normally. They fight bacterial infections, so it is worrisome to have them that low. If you would just remember him when you pray, it would be much appreciated. He’s very sweet and I miss being able to watch him. Thanks guys! Love ya.

Leave a Reply

