Quick Update

July 24, 2008 at 1:37 pm (Random Thoughts, Real Life)

Hey everyone. Here’s the deal: I leave for El Salvador in six days. I can’t ask for too many prayers on this trip. I hope that everything goes well, but there’s a legitimate anxiety mingling with the usual excitement. I have to start packing soon, but the summer doldrums have set in. You all know that lazy trend that smothers everything, when the heat and humidity squashes any desire to do anything productive. I finished my main job yesterday, said goodbye to my summer children, and now only have one catering job before it’s all over. So, I lay around and contemplate doing something productive. I have some fun plans coming up, but mainly I’m wondering if I should dread or look forward to next week. I’m going to stay positive and hope for the best (ideally), but we need all the prayers we can get.

Relatedly, I will attempt to keep a video blog while I’m a couple thousand miles away. I’ll host it on youtube, then supply the links here. I may try a write up a night or two, but the truth is that they would be barely coherent. It wears you out more than anything I’ve ever done. So, anyone who wants to keep up…

So, six days until ES, 21 days until I fly out to MD, and 26 days until I’m back on campus. Of course, seven of those days will be in ES, so it feels like even less…summer is wrapping up quickly. And unlike Dunbar, I can’t stand the thought of slowing time down. It’s all about avoiding boredom. A la Catch-22.

Yeah, if I haven’t seen you…today, I miss you. But, that’s part of life, I suppose. A stupid part of life, but one nevertheless.

Random: Some lady jst stopped by the house to ask if she could pick apples from our tree. At midnight when she gets off work. Nashville is a wonderful and strange place….

1 Comment

  1. Courtney said,

    Well you’re in my thoughts and prayers… and meanwhile, I’m totally looking forward to seeing X-files with you on Sunday!!!

Leave a Reply

