Day Two: It’s Off to Work We Go!

July 31, 2008 at 8:59 pm (Real Life, Spiritual) (, , , )

Well, everyone arrived today. Which is really nice, since the trip feels a little more real and normal now. I’m exhausted, but in a good way. Not beacuse I’ve been awake forever, but because we got a lot done. Well, we got a good amount done. We could have done a lot more.

Everyone arrived in one piece, which was good. That is always the preferred outcome. There was no drama this year, for which we were all EXTREMELY happy. Still, it took a little while to get everyone on the bus, suitcases in tow, and on their way. But, we got to the hotel, got everyone checked in, and…waited. Apparently, some people thought today was a good “stay in the hotel and rest” day. Yeah, we don’t have one of those. They were given thirty minutes to drop their stuff, freshen up (why you would, I don’t know. You sweat as soon as step outside the AC), and get back down to the bus. Forty-five minutes later, we were finally heading to the bus. I as kind of annoyed, because we have stuff to accomplish. This isn’t a day we can use to just sit around.

Well, we got to the church and started working after some quick introductions. Everyone started running around, bagging food. It’s a crazy scene to watch; I recorded some for later. It’s somethign you have to see to believe. In the end, we bagged about 650 bags of food. There was this adorable little girl putting the sugar in everyone’s bag. She was four, named Daniela. So cute. I’m a little surprised she could lift three pounds of sugar and put it in the bag! We ran out of beans because, after being told to put seven cups of beans in the bags (we re-bag the beans form the one hundred pound bags into three pound ones), the people began putting seven four cup scoops into each bag. Which shouldn’t have fit, but somehow did. So, that was crazy. But, we got enough for tomorrow, and that is the important part.

Everyone is worn completely out. I don’t blame them; in fact, I understand completely. We had Campero’s brought in to the church tonight. If you’ve never had it, you’re missing out. Delicious. But, afterwards we had our daily devo and then loaded up. No one was too concerned about hanging around for goodnight’s. Primary concern was getting on the bus and home. To the hotel, I mean.

Oh, I saw Francisco, Isaac, and Daniel today. So, it feels a little more like home. Isaac was nearly killed a few weeks ago on the bus. Leaving the Bible School one night, the bus was boarded and robbed. They were taking his backpack (from what I understand, he was letting them take it rather than do anything taht would provoke them) and they tried to shoot him. It grazed his head, requiring six stitches in the end, but they missed. Before they could try again (which they were about to), his sister threw herself in front of him and begged the men not to shoot him. So, he was fine. I’m really glad we don’t ride the public buses down here.

Well, that’s all I can think of for tonight. It was good, fun, and all that stuff. I’m just tired now and need a shower desperately. So, goodnight!

2 Comments

  1. Sam Cofer said,

    Sound’s like ya’ll needed a math major to watch over your bean system….darn, sorry I’m too far away to be a true “bean counter” I’m praying for you and I hope that you all are having a wonderful time

  2. Courtney said,

    I’m very tired, and it’s very late, so all I have to say is I’m glad things are going well, please don’t get shot. :p

Leave a Reply

